Users and permissions FAQs

Find answers to frequently asked questions about users and permissions in Portal.

How do I find out who can manage a specific user?

Open a support ticket to request a report. Bazaarvoice can deliver the report only to Account Administrators.

Can I see a report of all of my company's users, instances, and roles?

Select View Administrators on the Edit user page.

How do I assume the Privacy Manager role?

  • If you are an Account Administrator and need the Privacy Manager role, contact Bazaarvoice Support and open a support case.
  • If you're a user and need the Privacy Manager role, you can request access from Account Administrators with that role. If you’re not sure who your Account Administrators are, you can:
    1. From the upper-right corner of Portal, select the settings icon .
    2. Select Profile.
    3. Select View Administrators.

As an Account Administrator, why can’t I see or edit a user’s Portal account?

If you can’t see a user’s account, it’s likely that you don't have all of the same instances as them.

If you can’t edit a user’s account, it’s likely that they can access instances that you can’t. To edit their account, make sure you have access to all of their instances.

Why can’t I see all relevant roles or solutions in Users and Permissions?

It’s likely that you don’t have the role assigned to you. If you are an Account Administrator, you can only hold or assign a role to a user after you assign it to yourself. Learn more about the roles and solutions required for each Portal application.

Why can’t I remove a permission from a user?

Account Administrators can only remove a permission from a user if they have the same permission.

Should I create a new Vibe user in Vibe or in Portal?

Always create new users in Portal. This helps ensure that permissions, SSO, and other configurations are managed consistently.

Can I change a user type in Portal?

No. To change a user type, delete the existing user account and create a new one with a new user type.

Before you do this, we recommend you make a note of the existing user account’s permissions so you can replicate it easily.

If I delete a user who created API keys, will those API keys stop working?

No. API keys are not tied to the individual user profile that created them. However, we recommend you transfer their ownership to another user before removing the user.

Provide feedback button