Create and manage user accounts

Learn how to create and manage users in the Bazaarvoice Portal.

Users & Permissions in Portal allows you to:

  • Create user accounts
  • View and edit users
  • Manage user accounts
  • Assign user permissions
Note
Note: Only users assigned the Account Administrator role can manage other user and administrator accounts.

To see which users are assigned this role in your company, sign in to Portal and go to your profile page.

Create a user account 

  1. Select Create user.
  2. Under User type, select if you want to add a Portal user or recipient-only user.

    Portal users:
    • can sign in to Portal
    • will receive an email message to activate their Portal account

    Recipient-only users:

    • only receive email alerts and reports.
    • are activated automatically

  3. Enter an email address for the new user account.
  4. Specify user account details in the Profile and Access sections. 
  5. Select Save.​​​
Note
Note: If you try to create a user account for someone who already has a Bazaarvoice account, you'll receive an error message indicating that the email address is already in use. Use the Filters in the Users tab to find the user and edit their account details. If you can't find the account, this may be because you and the user don't share any instances. Contact Bazaarvoice support for assistance.

Manage users

You can view all users in the data table in the Users tab.

Column
Description
Name Name of the user.
Email address
Email address for the user.
Status
Status of the user. Learn more about user account statuses.
Date created
Date the user account was created.

Export users

To export all users to a CSV file, select the ellipsis icon > Export to CSV.

Bazaarvoice will send you an email link to download the file when the export is complete. Selecting the link will redirect you to Portal. After you’ve signed in, the file downloads automatically.

View user account statuses

You can view the status of individual users in the Status column of the data table in the Users tab. They provide useful information about the user at a glance.

Refer to the following table for a list of user statuses:

Status Description
Active
  • The user has access to the account.
  • If the user requests a password reset through the Forgotten password page, their status remains Active.
  • If an Administrator resets the user account password, their status changes to Password Reset.
Provisioned
  • The user account has been created.
  • The user has not yet set a password.
Staged
  • This status is the same as Provisioned except that it's applicable to Federated users only.
  • Once the user signs in successfully, their status changes from Staged to Active.
Locked Out
  • The user account has been locked after five failed login attempts.
  • The user has received an email explaining how to regain access.
Recovery
  • An Account Administrator has reset the user account password.
  • The user must select the link in the password reset email to set a new password and regain access to the account.
Password Expired
  • The user's password has expired and they are unable to log in to the portal.
  • The user can initiate a reset using the Forgotten password link on the login page, or an Administrator can trigger it using the Resend password reset.
  • If an Administrator triggers a reset, the user's status updates to Recovery until they set a new password.
Suspended
  • An Administrator has disabled access to the user account.

Edit user account details

You can manage users who have access to the instances for which you are an Account Administrator.

If a user has access to at least one instance for which you are not an Account Administrator, you can't edit their account.

To edit an individual user:

  1. From the Users tab, select the relevant user from the Name column of the data table. The Edit user page opens.
    Note: You can’t edit the user type for an existing account. To assign a different user type, disable and delete the existing account and create a new account using the same email address.
  2. Edit user account details in the Profile and Access sections.
  3. Select Save.

Learn about granting access to personally identifiable information (PII).

Note: When the email address of a user profile is updated, a link to confirm the change will be sent to the new email address. The user must confirm the change before using the new address to sign in to the Portal.

Disable or delete a user account

Disable a user account to prevent a user from logging in.

  1. From the Users tab, select the relevant user from the Name column of the data table. The Edit user page appears.
  2. Select Disable user.

Re-enable the user account at any time by selecting Enable user. The user’s account details and password remain the same.

To delete a user account, you must first disable it. When the account is disabled, select Delete user.

Caution
You cannot restore a user account after deleting it. Deleting a user's account also removes audit information about the changes the user made in the system. You will also remove saved filters, reports, and logs, but content such as review responses will remain. 

Reset a user account password

  1. From the Users tab, select the relevant user from the Name column of the data table.
  2. Select Reset password.
Note: When you reset a user's password, the user receives a password reset email. If the user remembers their original password after you send the password reset email, the original password will no longer work. They must reset their password using the link in the email.

Find users

Find users using any of these methods:

  • Date filter: To view user accounts created during a specific time period, select an option from the column on the left side of the filter or enter a start and end date. Select Apply and close.

  • Access filter:

    • Instance—Select an instance from the drop-down menu. Repeat for each instance you want to include. Select Apply and close.

    • Solution—Select a solution from the drop-down menu. Repeat for each instance you want to include. Select Apply and close.

    • Portal role—Select a solution from the drop-down menu. Repeat for each instance you want to include. Select Apply and close.

  • Users filter:

    • Status—Select a status, for example, Active. Repeat for each status you want to include. Select Apply and close.

    • Type—Filter the user list by either internal or external users. Select Apply and close.

  • Search field: Enter a user’s name or email address in the search field.

Provide feedback button